02/16/2012

I continued to update the publication exchange list with current email addresses while working the reference desk. We had two unscheduled researchers come in today. A mother and daughter came in to work on a school assignment on an object in the Museum’s collection, a Egyptian sculpture. I was faced with the issue of the parent trying to do the work for the student as was discussed in my Reference class at Pratt. I tried to give the best reference interview under the circumstances. I think the mother wanted the answers to the student’s assignment, more than resources to do the work.

Deirdre met with Emily and I to brainstorm our Practicum projects. Neither of us was that sure what we were doing yet. We have both been working on lots of projects here at the Library, a little stumped how to fit those in with the parameters of the project. Topics that I have been thinking about included: African art literature and who is doing it, book artists working with the discarded catalog cards, and providing reference services in art museum library.

Work continues reviewing the Siegmann collection. I also read over a blog post that Deirdre wrote about the Clark donation to the Library for the Museum website. The Clark donation was a significant donation of books on African-American artists, including a lot of works from the 19th and early 20th century.

Deirdre’s blog post can be found here: http://www.brooklynmuseum.org/community/blogosphere/2012/02/21/a-recent-donation-of-african-american-art-from-camille-and-luther-clark/

Hours worked: 9am-5pm. 1 hr. lunch = 7.0 hrs